Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Cy Young Award Finalists To Be Announced Tonight

Photo by Barton Silverman/New York Times

Just a quick reminder to let you know that the MLB Network will be announcing the three finalists for the Cy Young Award in each league tonight on a special broadcast at 6:00 PM Eastern Standard Time.  Candidates for the National League Cy Young Award include Gio Gonzalez, Matt Cain, Clayton Kershaw, Craig Kimbrel and the man who was better than all of them, R.A. Dickey.

The show will also reveal the three finalists for each league's Rookie of the Year Award and Manager of the Year Award, as well as five finalists for the American League and National League MVP Awards.  No Mets player or manager is expected to be a finalist in any of those categories, although former Mets manager Davey Johnson is a strong contender for the National League Manager of the Year Award.

So if you're all pooped out from the election coverage (and you know the six o'clock news will only be talking about that and perhaps the nor'easter headed up the Eastern seaboard), why not check out MLB Network at 6:00 PM to see if R.A. Dickey is among the three finalists for the NL Cy Young Award?

Let's just hope that when Dickey does win the coveted hardware (to be announced on Wednesday, November 14, same Bat-time, same Bat-channel), he doesn't have Lucas Duda accept the award for him.  I'm sure the Dickey family would like to receive the award in one piece.

No comments: